What is Jockey Club “Field So Good” Community Composting Program

About 3400 tonnes of food waste were generated every day in 2019, more than 95% food waste disposed to landfill. Food waste could cause serious problem in landfill, releasing methane gas, which is more than 25 times as potent as carbon dioxide at trapping heat in the atmosphere. Hence there is an urging need for solution to tackle with these wastes problem.

Food waste composting is one of the most prominent ways to solve the problem. Composting refers to the degradation of organic matter by microorganisms under controlled conditions. The produced compost can provide valuable nutrients and organic matter to the soil, which in turn help growing healthy plants and restore the growth beneficial microorganisms in the soil. Besides, the volume of organic waste could be largely reduced by more than 50% during the decomposition process.

 

In the HKJC “Field So Good” Community Composting Programme which funded by The Hong Kong Jockey Club Charities Trust, the team led by Prof. Chu Lee Man of The Chinese University of Hong Kong has conducted a comprehensive research to formulate the use of local industrial food waste as to produce High Quality Organic Compost. And the team has finally produced a High Quality Organic Compost, which is the first and the only certified compost produced with local food waste.

dot_brown_bg-01.jpg

Program process

好壤堆肥計劃基本流程

Stakeholders participating in the Programme

The Programme serves as an example of recycling and converting organic refuse into organic compose with commercial value.  Through sharing the underlying technologies, it will help drive further diversification of the recycling industry.

We are liaising with farms, gardens and gardening shops to encourage them to try out the high quality organic compost which developed and produced through this Programme, with a view to promoting widespread use by the industries.

Our current targets mainly include Soybean waste, Herbal tea waste, Coffee ground, Malt waste from different factories, and we are also exploring other potential organic resources for recycling.

Community connection is a cross-generation task.  We will seek in the community environmental protection leaders for tomorrow, and nurture them through immersion in the promotion events.

 
 

Donors:

Organizer:

Co-Organizer:

iees.gif
download.png

The School of Life Sciences of the Chinese University of Hong Kong is the organiser of the Programme and responsible for the research.  Led by Prof Chu Lee-man, the Programme has investigated the efficient production of high quality compost using organic refuse created by the local food factories, and assessed the benefits of organic composting to local agriculture and horticulture.

Working with Government, non-governmental organisations and community partners, the Hong Kong Jockey Club Charities Trust is committed to improving the quality of life of the people of Hong Kong, as well as building a sustainable future for Hong Kong.  Over the years, the Trust has sponsored many large-scale environmental projects, and this Programme is one of the fully funded projects.

 

FoodCycle+ is a local registered social enterprise, working on upcycling and reuse of local organic resources in local agriculture through its innovative upcycled green products.  It is responsible for the operation of compost production and community promotion for the Programme.  

Hong Kong Children & Youth Services endeavours to create a favourable environment where children, youths and their family members can develop their potential and realise their goals.  It is responsible for recruiting and providing training to the young people interested in promoting environmental protection, for assisting various community promotion events.

The milestones of activity

Under the team led by Prof. Chu Lee Man, CUHK, although there were problems such as typhoon disaster, social movements and  Covid-19 pandemic, the program as a whole was still able to continue, and the team and partners also fully demonstrated the spirit of mutual assistance and continued to achieve the program. The various goals within, so that all stakeholders can gain.

  • Research on composting of industrial and commercial organic wastes -A suitable food waste composting formula has been developed. The current food waste formula includes: herbal tea dregs, coffee dregs, beer dregs, tofu dregs and mushroom puree, all of which are generated from local industry and commerce.

  • The establishment of composting workshops and planting demonstration areas -fully automated composting production system, odorless, 24-hour operation.

  • Organic waste collection, compost production and farm trial use - processing more than ten tons of industrial and commercial kitchen waste every month, and will be distributed to local farms for trial starting from May 2020.

  • Established a local compost brand "MixO' Plus Organic Compost" - to produce high-quality compost "MixO' Plus Organic Compost" that meets organic certification requirements, redesigned the packaging, and promoted organic compost with the image of a new product.

  • Youth ambassador training and promotion work — 180 young people were invited to visit the composting plant and 4 training days were held. A total of 23 good soil youth ambassadors were trained and related promotion activities were invested.

  • Planting workshops - held planting workshops in 4 schools.

  • Visits and exhibitions - Six visits were held and more than 100 people were invited to visit the venue. Participated in the 2019 Eco Expo Asia and the Hong Kong North District Flower Bird Insect And Fish Show.

  • Media Interview - Accepting interview photos from the Commercial Radio Hong Kong "The Way We Are" program.

「好壤城市堆肥計劃是甚麼?

本港每日產生大量工商業有機廢棄物,但回收比率偏低,且生產成品的技術參差及缺乏推廣,未能銜接本地農業及園藝業的需求,故只能依賴進口堆肥以滿足市場需要。

賽馬會「好壤」城市有機堆肥計劃於2018年10月開始,項目由香港賽馬會慈善信託基金資助,香港中文大學生命科學學院朱利民教授及其團隊主導,並跟本地社企FoodCycle+合作執行。透過一系列前期研發工作,開發出一套具效益及標準化的有機廢棄物回收及堆肥生產模式,予本地有機回收業參考;並建立了一個有實際回收及生產能力的堆肥工場,生產符合有機認證要求的優質堆肥「加樂泥」予本地農友使用,從而實現將有機廢棄物回收發展成為一個對本地環境有所裨益的可持續營運項目。

 

第一期項目亦跟香港青少年服務處合作,招攬及培訓對改善環境和解決社會問題有興趣的年輕人,透過一系列培訓計劃令其成為本項目的「好壤青年大使」,共同參與項目市場及社區推廣教育活動。藉此讓青年人更親近綠色大自然,啟發他們多方面投入社會,培養信心及溝通技巧。

dot_brown_bg-01.jpg

計劃流程

好壤堆肥計劃基本流程

​計劃參與者/界別

本計劃示範如何回收有機廢棄物,生成有價值的堆肥成品,讓回收業了解箇中技術,帶動本地回收業更多元化。

我們不斷聯絡各農場、園圃及園藝店,鼓勵他們試用本計劃研發的高質有機堆肥,爭取更多業界使用。

豆品廠的豆渣、啤酒廠的酒糟、茶店或咖啡店的茶葉渣及咖啡渣都是我們主力回收的目標,我們亦正搜尋更多可回收的有機資源。

保育土地將是世代承接的工作,我們會在社區中發掘環保的明日之星,以「好壤青年大使身份」,身體力行去推廣活動。

 
 

​捐助機構:

主辦機構:

協辦機構:

iees.gif
download.png

香港中文大學環境、能源及可持續發展研究所為本計劃的主辦及研究機構,由朱利民教授牽頭,研究利用由本地食品工場產生的有機廢棄物作有效率的高質堆肥生產,並協助評估有機堆肥對本地農業及園藝所帶來的好處。

香港賽馬會慈善信託基金致力與政府、非政府組織及社區機構攜手改善港人生活質素,締建一個可持續發展的未來,多年來資助不同的大型環保項目,本計劃就是其全資資助的環保項目之一。

 

FoodCycle+ 為本地註冊社企,致力透過昇級再造(Upcycling),以推動將有機資源循環利用到本地農業,並開發出多種Upcycle產品。於本項目中負責營運堆肥生產及社區推廣的工作。

香港青少年服務處致力為兒童、青少年及他們的家庭提供舒適及可靠環境,該他們發掘潛能,達到目標。服務處會於計劃中招募及培訓對環境推廣有興趣的青人,以協助各類型社區推廣項目。

活動里程碑

在中大生命科學學院團隊帶領之下,期間雖然碰上風災對場地破壞,社會運動及疫情等問題,但項目總體仍能持續進行,團隊及合作伙伴亦充份發揮互助精神,續步達成項目內的各個目標,讓各持份者都能有所得著。

  • 工商業有機廢棄物作堆肥研究 — 研究出合適的廚餘堆肥配方,目前廚餘配方包含:涼茶渣、咖啡渣、啤酒渣、豆渣及菇泥,全都是來自本地工商業所產生出來的廚餘。

  • 堆肥工場及種植示範區的建立 — 全自動化堆肥生產系統、無臭、24小時運作。

  • 有機廢棄物收集、堆肥生產及農場試用 — 每月處理超過十噸工商業廚餘,並由2020年5月開始向各本地農莊派發試用。

  • 創立本地堆肥品牌「加樂泥」— 生產符合有機認證要求的優質堆肥「加樂泥」,從新設計包裝,以新品片形象宣傳有機堆肥。

  • 青少年大使培訓及推廣工作 — 邀請180名青年參觀堆肥工場。並舉辦了4次培訓日,共培訓23位好壤青年大使及投入相關的推廣活動。

  • 種植工作坊 — 於4間學校舉辦種植工作坊。

  • 參觀及展覽 — 共舉辦六次參觀活動,共招待約100多名人士到場參觀。參加了2019國際環保博覽,及香港北區花鳥蟲魚展覽會。

  • 媒體訪問 — 接受商業電台「同途有心人」節目的訪問相片。